Skip to main content


Up to $7,000 for one year towards tuition, fees, books, room and board 
OSU Institutional Application Deadline: October 25, 2021
(National Deadline: February 15, 2022)


See website for more information:

To Apply 

Submit the following information requested by October 25, 2021. Applications will be reviewed by a selection committee and qualified candidates shall be nominated for the national Udall Scholarship competition.

  1. Personal details:  Name, address, phone, email, legal state of residence, expected graduation date, undergraduate major, and tribal affiliation, if applicable;
  2. Attach a resume (no more than two pages) in which you give information on your education background, honors, awards, activities, jobs, etc. Please make separate divisions for high school and college.
  3. Describe briefly any public service and community activities associated with your interests in the environment, health care, or tribal public policy in which you regularly participate;
  4. List jobs (including summer employment) you have held in the past three or four years, especially with any details concerning volunteer work or internships related to this scholarship;
  5. What are your professional aspirations?
  6. Describe an activity or experience (including academic research) that has been important in clarifying or strengthening your motivation for a career in environmental public policy, health care, or tribal public policy;
  7. Include an 800-word essay discussing a significant public speech, legislative act, or public policy statement by Congressman Morris or Stewart Udall and its impact on your field of interest and your personal goals.

Please include with your application materials:

Deliver all application information by
5:00 pm Monday, October 25, 2021 to the
Director of the Henry Bellmon Office of Scholar Development
and Undergraduate Research
334 Student Union

Writers’ Workshop at the Doel Reed Center for the Arts

All successful applicants who are awarded with OSU institutional nomination for the Truman, Goldwater, and Udall will receive an invitation to participate in the annual Writers’ Workshop at the OSU Doel Reed Center for the Arts in Taos, New Mexico.  Significant scholarship support is given to each institutional nominee to participate in the workshop, which is held for four days during the last week of students’ winter break (early January).  OSU faculty and staff from our office join forces to mentor student nominees and to provide feedback on their application materials.

Oklahoma State University's Udall Scholars

1999       Phoebe Brown Katterhenry (Chemical Engineering)
2002       Autumn Ferris (Nutritional Science)
2005       Nick Rasmussen (Zoology)
2007       Sara Jane Smallwood (Ag Communication/American Indian Studies)
2007       Cortney Timmons (Biosystems and Ag Engineering)
2008       Savannah Smith (Environmental Science)
2009       Jessica Lay (Biosystems Engineering)
2010       Lauren White (Environmental Science)
2010       Alesia Hallmark (Zoology and Botany)
2010       Brooke Hill (Psychology)
2010       Jeremy Bennett (Environmental Science)
2011       Blake Jackson (Agricultural Economics)
2011       Flint Holbrook (Biosystems Engineering)
2013       Ariel Leff (Mechanical Engineering)
2015       Maeghan Murie-Harting (Chemistry and Biochemistry and Molecular Biology)
2016       Tori Coates (Human Resource Management)  
2017       Emma Kincade (Communication Sciences and Disorders)
2018       Lindsey Hancock (Physiology)
Back To Top
SVG directory not found.